Boarding Life

At Malvern College Chengdu, each House has a Housemistress/Housemaster, or ‘Housem’ who will oversee your son’s or daughter’s progress in school. In the House, there are also Assistant HSM and Matron who are always willing to answer questions or give advice. In addition to the House team, there are academic tutors, class teachers and academic departments available to help, with many running clinics to provide extra academic support.

All Houses have their own kitchenettes, recreation rooms, and common areas with a range of facilities such as table tennis and snooker, and access to television, a DVD player, and video.

Each member of the House can readily meet his or her Housem, Assistant HSM and Matron to discuss work, interests, problems or ambitions.

All Houses compete in the many varied Inter-House events such as sport, drama, singing groups, and debating teams. There are a variety of House outings, from hiking to movies, as well as opportunities to relax together in the House together, perhaps baking on a Sunday afternoon or taking part in arts evenings.

Tutors

To complement the Pastoral function in the Houses, all pupils also have an academic Tutor, who meets at least three times per week with his or her group, and who is concerned with supervising academic and co-curricular progress and generally providing pastoral support. The Tutors are also on duty in the House, to provide added assistance and ensure that the pupil settles in well.

Peer Support

Sometimes pupils will want to talk to their peers rather than a member of staff. The Prefects are an invaluable source of advice and act as a key “bridge” between staff and the student body. New pupils are assigned a ‘buddy’ and there are also trained pupil peer mentors in each House. They can help on a wide range of issues and will always be happy to listen. The Heads of House, their Deputies and Student Council representatives would also welcome the chance to hear their fellow pupils’ views and would be very willing to do whatever they can to ensure everyone’s time at Malvern College Chengdu is fulfilling and happy.

The most important aspect of a successful, fulfilled life at Malvern College Chengdu is the ability to communicate with others. It important that all students are aware that there is always someone they can approach if they are unsure about anything. If they feel that something is unfair, if they do not understand the reasoning behind something, then please seek an answer. Dwelling on problems and repressing questions resolves nothing. Communicating with your peers and staff is a vital part of a student’s development and also their day-to-day happiness. With this level of support, students will leave Malvern College Chengdu as young people who are not only articulate and ready to listen, but also principled, courteous, independent-thinkers and ready to help others. Our students will be prepared for a successful future ahead of them.

  • SHARE THIS PAGE:

寄宿生活

在成都市金牛区墨尔文公学,每位学生将会有一位舍监老师(男舍监或女舍监),舍监负责监管学生的学习及生活情况。每间公寓还将配有助理舍监及辅导员,帮助学生答疑解惑或提供咨询。除了公寓的管理团队之外,学校的学术导师、教学老师,以及整个学术部门都将为学生提供学术支持与帮助。

所有公寓都配有小型厨房、娱乐活动区、就餐区、休闲区以及健身房。

每位学生都可随时与舍监或辅导员见面,向老师咨询关于学习及生活所遇到的问题,或是寻求兴趣爱好、心理等方面的指导与帮助。

每间公寓将有戏剧社、歌唱组、辩论队等组织,让学生有机会参加各种竞赛活动。同时,公寓还将组织户外活动,包括郊游、电影等,以及校园聚会活动,如周日下午的烧烤和晚上的文艺晚会。

导师指导

为了帮助学生提升学习,所有学生都有自己的学术导师,每位导师每周至少三次与学生见面,帮助学生进行学习指导、监督以及其它支持服务。导师同时协助舍监进行学生的照顾及管理工作,确保每位学生都能得到最好的照顾

同学支持

为帮助学生、老师之间建立起沟通的桥梁,学校专设有同学支持服务。新生将有指定的伙伴,在经过学校的专门培训后,同学们可以相互提供帮助与支持。同时,舍监及学生委员会代表将有机会了解同学的观点和意见,并竭尽所能帮助学生解决问题,让学生们在墨尔文的生活能够充实而快活。

在墨尔文的教育中,想要获得成功最重要的一点是学会交流与沟通。学校希望每位学生在遇到问题时会提问并寻求帮助。比如当你觉得不公平,而且不明白为什么的时候,一定要学会提问寻求答案。遇到麻烦时不敢提问并不能解决问题,与同学及老师沟通才能让自己每天快乐的生活并不断进步。墨尔文公学的寄宿生活,可以让学生提前做好准备,将来发展成为善于表达与倾听,有原则并且谦逊的,具有独立思想并且乐于助人的精英人才。

  • 分享此页: